Updates from August, 2016 Toggle Comment Threads | Keyboard Shortcuts

  • Jay Versluis 4:29 pm on August 23, 2016 Permalink | Reply  
    Categories: Mac OS X ( 35 )   

    How to kill a Mac App via the Command Line 

    Sometimes it’s’ necessary for us to force-close an app on our Mac if it’s no longer responding to our commands. Usually we’d do that by pressing CMD+OPT+ESCAPE, which brings up a handy window from which we can choose a troublesome app.

    Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 16.10.14

    But sometimes, this keyboard combination won’t work – for example, if we’re dealing with a remote Mac to which no physical keyboard is attached. In such cases, we can choose to force-close an app via the command line. Let me show you how to do that.

    Connect to your Mac via SSH using a Terminal Session and find out what apps are currently running. We’ll so that with the top command:

    top -u

    Using the -u switch tells top to list the app with the highest CPU usage over time first. The command will display a list of running processes, much like this:

    Screen Shot 2016-08-23 at 16.15.04

    Take a look at the list and make a note of the troublesome app. In my case it’s Carrara, using 165% of my CPUs resources. By definition impossible, but let’s not worry about that. The important thing is this app’s PID (Process ID). Write it down or take a screenshot, we’ll need it in amount to kill the app (mine is 5964).

    Press CTRL+C to stop top and return to the command line. Now issue the following command, replacing 5964 with your own PID:

    kill -9 5964

    And that’s it: the troublesome app has been force-closed and should vacate your system sharpishly. For more information on both top and kill, check out their respective man pages on your Mac.





     
  • Jay Versluis 5:43 pm on August 7, 2016 Permalink | Reply
    Tags:   

    Categories: iOS ( 222 ), Mac OS X ( 35 )   

    How to make Notes App sync properly on iOS 

    ios9-notes-app-iconHave you ever wondered why some notes seemingly sync just fine between your iOS devices, but others do not? Wether a note is not fully updated, or you find a duplicate entry in the list, it can be an exercise in frustration.

    But fret not, it doesn’t have to be! This is not a bug in the Notes app; it’s the way we’re using it.

    Let me show yo what you can do to avoid such problems, and how they can happen in the first place.

    Why do we sometimes get random duplicate notes?

    This has to do with the way the app stores data in the cloud. Notes saves your content only when you close the note, or when you switch away from it. Your note is not saved while you’re typing it.

    Likewise, iOS can only “save over” the current note if you’re not actively editing it. Leaving it open, even if you’re only looking at it, means your note is locked for edits from other devices.

    When you make a change on device A, and the same note is opened and edited on device B, then iCloud cannot save your changes to the current note. Hence it creates a duplicate entry. This is a safety mechanism so that your changes are saved rather than lost, and you can decide which copy you’d like to keep when you’re done.

    How to avoid sync trouble on iPhone

    So on iPhone, the solution is simple: always return to the list view of all your notes. Do not leave a note open. That way, another device can edit its contents without trouble.

    How to avoid sync trouble on iPad and Mac?

    On the iPad as well as your Mac, things are a little different due to the nature of the Split View Controller. It displays both the list of your notes, as well as a note next to it. Even when you hold your iPad in portrait mode and cannot see the list view, one note is ALWAYS open and displayed, and therefore cannot be edited by another device. That’s usually when and why iOS (or macOS) saves a duplicate.

    To avoid this situation, make sure you switch to a note that you’re unlikely to edit from another device. Perhaps create a “dummy note” without content and switch to it when you’re finished with the Notes app.

    Remember you can look at a note even if it’s open on another device – it’s just that when editing an open note, trouble keeps in.

    Hope this helps 🙂





     
    • juliav305 8:26 pm on August 7, 2016 Permalink | Reply

      Another great article thank you – another part of the system that made me think I was going slightly crazy with duplicate notes of the same thing or not syncing up at all. Mystery solved 🙂

      • Jay Versluis 8:33 pm on August 7, 2016 Permalink | Reply

        Thanks Julia 🙂

      • Jay Versluis 8:34 pm on August 7, 2016 Permalink | Reply

        Thank you, Julia 🙂

  • Jay Versluis 4:45 pm on August 7, 2016 Permalink | Reply
    Tags:   

    Categories: iOS ( 222 )   

    How to sync past events in the Apple Calendar App on iOS 

    Apple-Calendar-Official-iconHave you ever been shocked to find out that a new iOS device does not show your old calendar entries, even though future events sync fine across your other devices?

    We’ve all been there! Turns out there’s a default setting in the Calendar App that only synchronises the last 1 month of entries. As if your life before that point didn’t matter. Kind of like Apple’s policy of not supporting hardware older than 4 weeks. But I digress…

    To fix this problem, open the Settings App on your iOS device, then head over to Mail, Contacts, Calendars and scroll all the way to the bottom. Find the Calendars section. There’s a section here called Sync, and by default it says “Events 1 Month Back”.

    Change this to All Events, and magically, past events are now synchronised on this device as well.

    Photo Aug 07, 16 38 37

    You must make this change on ALL your iOS devices so that all past calendar entries can be pushed to every device. Note that there is no such setting on the Calendar App for OS X.

    Another mystery solved!





     
c
Compose new post
j
Next post/Next comment
k
Previous post/Previous comment
r
Reply
e
Edit
o
Show/Hide comments
t
Go to top
l
Go to login
h
Show/Hide help
shift + esc
Cancel